top of page

Emlog #04 〜Bento, Soul Food of all Japanese〜

Updated: May 6, 2021




Hello, I am Yoriko. I raised 2 children in the US for over 15 years, and am still raising them here in Japan. By now, I am basically a professional Bento maker since my children brought bento to school since elementary school to high school, and still now to college.

I try to make bento with a variety of food, as well as colorful and nutritiously good. It is challenging to do so but I believe my children can stay healthy and feel a mother’s love.

Bento is a single-portion meal in a box of Japanese origin. The history of bento goes back to the 8th century when people wrapped rice balls with bamboo leaves in, but by the 16th century, bento boxes were created.


You can buy bento at bento stores, convenience stores, department stores and restaurants but many mothers prepare bento at home.


Bento comes in different styles, such as homemade, ones for special occasions such as a family picnic (see Emlog #03) or events, but also we have them at theaters, and even on the train using local specialty food of prefectures or cities.


When you buy bento, the price range starts around 500 yen but famous restaurants can charge over 10,000 yen a box.

Even though there is a wide price range, bento usually come with rice, vegetables and meat or fish.


I am planning to introduce you to a variety of bento in the near future but I would like to introduce the common homemade bento I made for my children. Nothing special, it is my daily routine.


We don’t have much time in the morning, so I often cheat by using leftovers, cooking enough for 2days, cooking halfway through and just change the taste or add something in the end, prepare and freeze etc.


These are the examples


Monday

Chinese-style chicken, rolled omelette, salad, rice

Tuesday

Fried pork cutlet, egg with leek, tomato, lotus root, rice

Wednesday

Sushi roll, boiled egg, salmon, celery, taro potato

Thursday

Fried crab cakes, boiled egg, salad, sweet potato, rice

Friday

Salmon, broccoli, rolled omelette, fish cake, taro, rice

Saturday

Vegetable and beef stirfry, tomato, rolled omelette, rice

Sunday is my day off!



If you are interested in making bento, we have a class for you!

You will learn how to make and pack the food into the bento box. Maybe we can go to trekking or on a tour with the bento you made.


 




16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page